# Trinity United Church Congregational Meeting draft Minutes, July 5, 2020

A meeting of the Congregation of Trinity United Church was held via ZOOM on Sunday, July 5, 2020.

## 1. Opening Statement and Prayer

Glenn Funamoto (Chair) declared this to be a duly constituted meeting at 1:33 p.m. Rev. Read Sherman led us in prayer.

## 2. Quorum

We established quorum with 40 members and adherents in attendance. A special welcome was made to the Rev. Stéphane Vermette, visiting with us as the new minister of Église Sainte-Claire, an online church outreach starting up to serve French-speaking people. It was announced that Trinity's Council had agreed to serve as a fiscal agent for the new organization as they do not yet have a developed congregation and charitable number. Thanks especially to Philip Massarelli and Beverley Bridgman for being willing to do the extra accounting work to make this collaboration in ministry possible!

## 3. Approval of Agenda

Moved by John Bridgman, seconded by Gary Tompkins: That the agenda be approved. **Carried.** 

#### 4. Enabling Motion

Moved by Beverly Bridgman, seconded by Shirley Cartmill: That adherents be allowed to vote. **Carried.** 

## 5. Memorials and Prayer

Rev. Read Sherman read the In Memoriam list for 2019 and led us in prayer. It was a year in which we lost many dear friends, and those dear to our members: Ike Amromin, Catherine Bray, Denise Brosseau, Nolande Yvonne Braithwaite Callendar, Patricia Farrow, Gerald Garceau, Ruth Garland, Glen Graves, Jain Knapman, Frank Massarelli, Lillian Hurdle Merritt, Mrs. Peppy, Nick Palumbo, Angela Silver, Albert Taylor and Gary Troope. Additionally we remembered the more recent deaths of George Jenkins and Norma Robertson, both who unfortunately died of COVID-19. May God be with each family and all who will miss them.

# 6. Approval of minutes from last meetings

## i. Minutes of March 3, 2019

Moved by Veronica Heffernan, seconded by Eric Garçeau, that we approve these Minutes. **Carried.** 

## ii. Minutes of April 28, 2019

Moved by Veronica Heffernan, seconded by Gary Tompkins, that we approve these Minutes. **Carried.** 

# 7. Open issues

i. Can council be renewed for another year (due to Covid-19)

Moved by Sabrina Heffernan, seconded by Gary Tompkins, that the existing Council and Ministry Leaders continue until the annual meeting in 2021.

Amendment: add Heather Purcell's name as Ministry Leader for Worship. Carried.

# ii. Correspondence

None

#### 8. New business

## i. Alternate Regional Council Rep

Moved by Gary Tompkins, seconded by Jenn Carroll, that we name an Alternate Regional Council Representative if any of the current three cannot attend. **Carried.** 

Kim Wildenmann nominates Gary Tompkins, seconded by Dave Ingham. Gary Tompkins accepts. **Carried.** 

# ii. 2019 Financial Statement Approval

Philip Massarelli explained the 2019 Financial Statement and its various components. Moved by Philip Massarelli, seconded by Eric Garçeau that we approve the 2019 Financial Statement. **Carried.** 

# iii. 2020 Budget approval

Philip Massarelli explained the Budget and its various components. Moved by Philip Massarelli, seconded by Kim Wildenmann, that we approve the 2020 Budget . **Carried.** 

Moved by Kim Wildenmann, seconded by Rosemary Warren that Philip Massarelli present a Financial Statement to Council based on the first six months (JAN-JUN) of 2020 due to Covid-19 to create a budget for the remainder of the year 2020. **Carried.** 

# 9. Chair and Secretary of Congregation:

**Chair:** It was moved by Gary Tompkins and seconded by Jenn Carroll that Glenn Funamoto be nominated as Chair of the Congregation. He accepts. **Carried.** Glenn Funamoto was acclaimed as Chair of the Congregation.

**Secretary:** It was moved by Gary Tompkins and seconded by Jenn Carroll that Veronica Heffernan be the Secretary of the Congregation. She accepts. **Carried.** Veronica Heffernan was acclaimed as Secretary of the Congregation.

# 10. Adjournment and Benediction

It was moved by Glenn Funamoto that we adjourn at 3:30pm. Carried.

Respectfully submitted by:

Veronica Heffernan, Secretary of the Congregation

Glenn Funamoto, Chair of the Congregation